British Safety Council has a new Chairman

Mike Robinson, chief executive of the British Safety Council, has announced the appointment of health and safety campaigner Lawrence Waterman, as the new chairman of the organisation.

Lynda Armstrong OBE, the current chair of the British Safety Council who has held the position since October 2010, will retire on 24 November 2017 after seven years in the post.

Lawrence Waterman OBE CFIOSH was formerly head of health and safety at the London Olympic Delivery Authority and the Battersea Power Station development, a past president of IOSH, a visiting professor at Loughborough University, and is a founding partner at the Park Health and Safety Partnership.

He was appointed OBE for services to health and safety in the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Honours.